US Senate Candidates Debate—Charlotte

Free the Vote North Carolina and the Young Americans for Liberty at UNC Charlotte are sponsoring North Carolina’s only all-inclusive U.S. Senate candidates debate Friday, Oct. 17 in McKnight Hall on the UNC Charlotte campus at 7 p.m. 

All the candidates whose name will appear on the ballot, as well as those who have qualified to have their write-in votes counted, have been invited. 

“With most debates this election cycle excluding at least one qualified candidate, Free the Vote NC felt it was necessary to provide the voters of North Carolina with a real debate where the voters are not shown who to vote for, but to let the voters make the decision for themselves,” said Jordon Greene, Free the Vote founder and president. 

The debate will be also be sponsored by the Carolina Liberty PAC, and CAUTION (the activists arm of Charlotte TEA Party). 

Candidates who have been invited include: Democrat Kay Hagan, Republican Thom Tillis and Libertarian Sean Haugh, whose names will all appear on the ballot. In addition, Free the Vote has invited the certified write-in candidates: Barry GurneyJohn Rhodes, and David Waddell

Sponsoring an all-inclusive debate is in keeping with the mission of Free the Vote North Carolina, which is to eliminate eliminating barriers to participation in the electoral process. This event will help give voters the information they need to vote for the person of their choice without the debate holders making that choice for them. 

And if you cannot physically attend the debate, you can watch it live online at, or at Take your pick!

October 17, 2014 at 6pm - 8pm
McKnight Hall, UNC-C
9201 University City Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28223
United States
Google map and directions
Jordan Greene
SirWilliam Marshall Valinda Norton Friedl VanHook Ann Stokes Vlad Predescu Heritier Lumbala Capetown Steven Kreisman Ian Seepersaud Ronald Neff Phillip Morgan Megan Hennings Andrea Greer Caleb Theodros Mohamed Moustafa Ahmed Elbaz Bana Zeru Mike Corbett Kristina Drye Vincent Cahill Casey James Aldridge Sean Grier Bobby Weant Rachel Mills Jose Reyes Brad Hessel Nicholas Tselepis Crystal Gonzalez Michael Zytkow Shay Morris Monica Mariko Embrey Justin Moore Warren Cole Anthony Rodriguez Carmela Martinez Randall Franklin Jared LeSage Elizabeth Nervegna Kim Munguia Dennis Van Berwyn David Tarkenton Deborah Lynn Gurney Jeff Berlin Ashir Gruder Walt Rabon Nicholas Gurney Tyler Versiontwo Anastasi Nickalaus Bryant Horn Marco Pretorius

Will you come?

Showing 128 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • SirWilliam Marshall
    rsvped 2014-10-17 05:07:18 -0400
  • Valinda Norton
    rsvped 2014-10-17 05:07:17 -0400
  • Friedl VanHook
    rsvped 2014-10-17 05:07:17 -0400
  • Ann Stokes
    rsvped 2014-10-17 05:07:17 -0400
  • posted about this on Facebook 2014-10-16 21:01:30 -0400
    Tomorrow, if you cannot physically attend the US Senate Debate you can watch it live online at, or at Take your pick!
  • posted about this on Facebook 2014-10-16 14:31:44 -0400
    Any updates on Tillis or Hagan confirming that they will be there tomorrow?
  • Vlad Predescu
    rsvped 2014-10-16 05:10:46 -0400
  • Heritier Lumbala Capetown
    rsvped 2014-10-16 05:10:45 -0400
  • Steven Kreisman
    rsvped 2014-10-15 05:11:18 -0400
  • posted about this on Facebook 2014-10-14 18:03:28 -0400
    Don't forget to send us your questions for the candidates with the hashtag #LetThemDebate by Thursday morning.
  • Ian Seepersaud
    rsvped 2014-10-13 05:09:18 -0400
  • Ronald Neff
    rsvped 2014-10-12 23:27:12 -0400
  • Phillip Morgan
    rsvped 2014-10-11 05:10:37 -0400
  • Megan Hennings
    rsvped 2014-10-10 05:10:18 -0400
  • Andrea Greer
    rsvped 2014-10-10 05:10:18 -0400
  • Caleb Theodros
    rsvped 2014-10-10 05:10:18 -0400
  • Mohamed Moustafa
    rsvped 2014-10-10 05:10:17 -0400
  • Ahmed Elbaz
    rsvped 2014-10-10 05:10:17 -0400
  • Bana Zeru
    rsvped 2014-10-10 05:10:16 -0400
  • Mike Corbett
    rsvped 2014-10-09 05:09:26 -0400
  • Kristina Drye
    rsvped 2014-10-09 05:09:26 -0400
  • Vincent Cahill
    rsvped 2014-10-09 05:09:26 -0400
  • Casey James Aldridge
    rsvped 2014-10-09 05:09:26 -0400
  • Sean Grier
    rsvped 2014-10-09 05:09:25 -0400
  • posted about this on Facebook 2014-10-08 21:42:23 -0400
    Help us get Senator Kay Hagan and Thom Tillis to attend NC's only all-inclusive debate. Let them know that you want them to appear on the stage with all the other candidates because you as a NC voter deserve to hear from all the candidates. Senator Kay Hagan E-Mail: Website Contact Form: Thom Tillis: Phone: 704-248-2980 E-Mail: Website Contact Form:
  • posted about this on Facebook 2014-10-08 13:19:55 -0400
    Is this the debate that Kay Hagan said she would not attend?
  • Bobby Weant
    rsvped 2014-10-08 05:13:37 -0400
  • Rachel Mills
    rsvped 2014-10-07 05:16:45 -0400
  • Jose Reyes
    rsvped 2014-10-04 05:07:17 -0400
  • Brad Hessel
    rsvped 2014-10-02 05:09:56 -0400
Get Involved Volunteer Donate